Arrrrrg, it’s fun to be a pirate!

Have you ever stolen movies, books, and music?  Come on, even once?   I think that in this day and age everyone is doing it…..and is it so wrong?

Read this article, read my few thoughts, and then let’s have a comment discussion shall we?

The Article:

Why I Steal Movies, Even Ones I Am In <– it’s funny, read it.

My thoughts:

Books. I don’t think i will ever download an ebook, whether stolen or purchased.  I love carrying around my paperback.  I love breaking the spine by bending the pages to hold it in one hand.  I love dog-earring, it makes my spot easy to find, no muss or fuss with book-marks, it makes the pages thicker, worn in, loved.  I love getting my book messy.  A little water, some sauce sprinkled here and there, a grass stain or two?  By the end of the book you know my book was read.   About the closest technology gets to my books is when i use my iphone to hold it down when i read while eating.

**now that no one will ever lend me a book again i may have to resort to stealing.

Music. I used to buy cassette tapes.  Then one day i learned the magic trick of putting a small piece of scotch tape over the little squares at the top of the cassette and viola, my first foray into stealing music was born. I spent hours recording the radio, paying attention to press pause whenever the DJ’s spoke or an ad came on.  Tedious as fuck but now i had my own mixes!  And sometimes my own voice as the DJ…but that’s a different story.  After the decline of cassettes there were CD’s, and no way to steal the music besides the old fashioned way and those little squares of theft protection on every disk really didn’t allow for that, not that i would have done it anyway.  Then came the internet and we all went mad.  I went mad, but have since become a little bit saner.  Yup, i still like to check out a new band through the magic of free samples however now i tend to go on over to itunes and purchase the album if i really like it.  This seems fair, right?  Here’s a little story that i feel justifies what i do.  Awhile ago i heard a song though my digital music on Shaw cable (let me know if you need digital cable!) that i loved.  When i saw the band was coming to the Commodore i wanted to know if i liked the band enough to go (they don’t allow in and out anymore at the Commodore, nor do they provide vegan food options so i really have to like the band to want to be trapped in there for hours and hours).   So i downloaded the album, and loved it.  I bought the tickets, loved the show (all while starving and needing to smoke) and then promptly bought the album when i got home.  Win-Win.  The band was Florence and the Machine and you should check them out (it’s up to you how), Florence is a goddess.  CD’s are bulky and a waste of plastic and i don’t like them.  Downloading allows me to both check out new bands, and then support them if i really like them.  Does anyone expect anyone to hear 1 song, or see an article, or go off a recommendation of a friend and then buy the whole album?  Are we millionaires?  Anyway….on to…..

Movies. Now this is a bit of a conundrum.  I love movies, but they are so goddamn expensive, either to rent or to see at the theater.  Movie makers, at least the ones producing box office contenders, make shit-tonnes of money.  Sometimes i cannot find a movie i want to see, it’s not playing here and the video store does not carry it.  Sometimes it’s 10pm and i have a hankering to watch Flashdance, i’m already in my PJ’s and have a late fee from 5 years ago at the video store….what to do?  I will never stop going to the theater.  I love the ritual of it (pay, pee, popcorn, phone off) and enjoy seeing films on the big screen, now that i have found a dairy-free version of Glossette Raisins my popcorn is complete.  But what about the video store?  Video on Demand (again, if you don’t have a digital box let me know!) is great, i can stay in my PJ’s, don’t have to worry about that late fee, and someone get’s paid.  Recently though i could not find a movie i wanted to see online or on VOD (Food Inc, highly recommended) and so i visited my local independent video store.  It was amazing and brought me back to the days when i loved going into Silver Screen in Kelowna, before movies were a click away.  Browsing the isles, seeing movies i loved and smiling at the memories of the love, adventure, laughs, discussing movies with real live PEOPLE who were also out of their homes and doing things the old fashioned way.  So my recommendation on movies?  Until the salaries of the people who make them make a little more sense, don’t feel too bad about borrowing a blockbuster.  Perhaps think twice about searching for hours for that documentary or independent film.  Go out into the world a little bit more, find a movie store and pay the $5 to see a film that may change your life.  And you cannot throw popcorn at your friends during or discuss the film with them after when sitting on your couch all by yourself.

A Helpful Guide to Independent Video Stores in Van

Independent Flixx – West End

Black Dog Video – 1 on Commercial Drive, 1 on Cambie

Videomatica – West 4th

Happy Bats Cinema – Main St

Video Magic – DT on Abbott and also in Coquitlam

Limelight Video – Alma St

So now let’s discuss!  Leave a comment….please?

come on…i had to!  you love it.

**random and not very related.  Visit the site of Jessica Mason, who has created some of the costumes for Florence and the Machine.  She makes some amazing stuff, and I am friends with her dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

