FanFuckingFRINGE-Tastic: A Whole Lot of Horrible…..Most of it Awesome.

And some that was just horrible.  First off i would like to paint you a picture of why i take Fringe off as a vacation.  I am currently sitting on my balcony (which has an amazing view of Sunset Beach, and a glimpse of Granville Island) which never happens at 1pm on a work day.  I am also wearing my ‘No Moleste’ t-shirt and ripped (fashionably shredded) jeans, which i would not be able to wear to work.  Oh, and i am drinking a beer….certainly frowned upon, at work.  Ahhh, Fringe vacation.

Dr Horrible: Sing Along Blog

So I had no idea what this was going in.  All i knew was that i love the Firehall as a venue because the outdoor bar is rad.  Turns out this is the stage production of what Joss Whedon (Buffy, Firefly) wrote during the writers strike of 2008 and it was HILARIOUS!  Ironic, cheesy musicals are right up my alley and boy did this one deliver.  SPOILER (not really): The live feed really is live.  I am a dork.  The one and only thing that i could critique was the lead chick, not sure but i would have liked the Asian from the chorus to have had a shot….sorry. (i hate saying anything remotely critical in my critiques!).

Showtimes

Sep 13 – 9:00 PM
Sep 14 – 5:00 PM
Sep 17 – 7:00 PM
Sep 17 – 9:00 PM
Sep 18 – 9:00 PM
Sep 18 – 2:00 PM
Sep 19 – 9:00 PM

Wanderlust

Wow.  What a story, what a story teller….i could have listened to Martin Dockery tell tales of his trip to  Africa for ever.  Luckily he has another show, a Fringe Fundraiser no less (thanks Martin!!), check it here.

Showtimes

Sep 14 – 9:40 PM
Sep 17 – 5:00 PM
Sep 19 – 1:30 PM

Pretending Things Are a Cock

Ok, the premise is bang on (bang..hehehehe).  Especially for me and Ange because, we are….totally immature some of the time.  Also we like cute boys, and especially cute boys with accents.  So how could a show about a dude (an Australian dude!!) pretending things are a cock (a cock!!) go wrong?!?!  Well in my opinion (i’m sorry!!!) they went horribly wrong (and not in a great, Dr. Horrible way…i’m sorry!!!).  OK, the pictures of Jon pretending things are a cock are funny, but some are hard to see and they go by too fast.  And then there are the stories….for every 4th picture or so Jon relates a story from his childhood.  This is his attempt to explain who he is and why he does what he does.  Again, tripping along thinking, “OK, he’s cute, his stories will be cute!”  but they are not.  They are disturbing and gross and awkward.  They left me thinking “i did not want, nor need, to hear that” and then BANG, into the next cock picture.  Freud?  Freuds Ego?  Where are you when i need you?  We did walk out thinking that Jon was likable, that his timing was pretty good, and that we hope he hones his skills into something less….or maybe more……something else.  Perhaps he could pull from  ‘Jons’ Comedy’ journal (stuff he wrote when he was a teenager) because that shit was funny!!  All that being said, you are not me and i am not you.  Give it a go and come see me at the Fringe Club to discuss.  Cocks.  Hehehehe.

Showtimes

Sep 14 – 8:00 PM
Sep 15 – 5:00 PM
Sep 18 – 9:35 PM
Sep 19 – 5:40 PM

Oh the Humanity! And Other Good Intentions

Every year there is a bizarre little gem that i amaze at while in the front row of the Carousel theater.  One year it was “Lazy Susan”, last year it was the fringe of the Fringe show “Circus”, and this year it is “Oh the Humanity”.  Weird and awesome, just how me likesey. (Should i not do that?!?  what do you think?) The cast of 2 carried off the fast paced script about things that are somewhat horrible (yup, title tie in yo) with ease and i was left feeling “What the?!?!  Fuck yeah!”  and if you know me at all you will know that is one of my very most favorite ways to feel.  I don’t know how to describe this show except to say “go” … oh and there’s a bar!

Showtimes

Sep 15 – 8:00 PM
Sep 16 – 10:45 PM
Sep 17 – 7:00 PM
Sep 18 – 10:30 PM
Sep 18 – 5:45 PM
Sep 19 – 2:00 PM

The DK and Morgan Show

We Fringers have been spoiled by kick ass sketch comedy year over year.  The Pajama Men, Cody Rivers Show, Canadian Content so a new sketch comedy team really has their work cut out for them.  And i’m sorry, but with the exception of a few moments here and there and Alex eating a crayon (ALEX ATE A CRAYON) DK and Morgan just didn’t make mustre (is that a thing?!?  i like it and i’m using it).  Maybe next year guys!!!

Oh and this is Ange’s review, as drunkenly recorded on my iPhone last night at the Fringe Club:  “What is this thing?  Like what is this thing all together?  If someone were to say “hey you go write a show!” that’s pretty much what i think i would come up with, with no experience.  I mean most of it, there were some parts that were better than others but still i could write that.  And that’s not saying much”  Sweet Ange.  Sweet.

Showtimes

Sep 15 – 9:25 PM
Sep 17 – 10:35 PM
Sep 19 – 5:50 PM

Ok, and now a review of a show i have not yet seen.  I know that’s not how it is generally done but i promised my friend Garry i would review his show and i haven’t been able to work it in yet and i want people to take my sketchy word for it and go see the show before it’s too late.  If you think that run on senstence was amazing then you’ll love what’s coming next.

Without further ado, the fake review:

Doctor Marigold

1. Garry is super funny in person, even when not trying to be.  i am not sure if the show is funny or is supposed to be funny….but Garry is super funny in person.

2. His show last year was awesome!  And i am not just saying that because it was about Jesus and we all know that JC is my main Home-ie.

3. John really liked the show, and John, being English, has impeccable taste.  Obviously.  VanChick, being not English has a pretty liberal use of the comma.

4. This is what Garry had to say about his own show when asked “How do you think it’s going so far?”

Garry: “It’s best not to think about that”

5. It’s got a pretty damn good review.  From a real reviewer.  Who saw the show!  Now go!

http://www.plankmagazine.com/review/doctor-marigold

Showtimes

Sep 14 – 9:25 PM
Sep 17 – 10:25 PM
Sep 19 – 6:45 PM

Happy Fringe Ya’ll – 4 days left!  I just remembered that i gave my cabbie a free ticket voucher as part of his tip last night.  Hope you, and he, go see something amazing!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:12:48

    Great reviews. I did not know Dr Horrible: Sing Along Blog was playing… I loved Joss’ version so I might have to check this out!

    Have you seen 13: The Musical, following boys practicing for their Bar Mitzvahs? I tried to get tickets but all the shows were sold out except for the ones playing on Yom Kippur (great scheduling there for a Jewish-themed show guys… why not book a show on Lag B’omer while you’re at it??)

    Reply

  2. vanchick
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 00:55:05

    I have not seen 13 – let me know if you do!
    Thanks for the comment 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ange
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:34:21

    Oh goodness – I’m an ass, I mean yeah I don’t think the show was that great but it was pretty rude of me to say I could write a show as good as that 😛
    Great reviews Robyn!!! Go to the Fringe people!

    Reply

  4. Vanchick
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 05:02:31

    Yeah, lots of people laughed lots, and I definitely laughed some during DK and Morgan. It was by no means bad, just not great. As for Pretending …. Cock, maybe it was just me and Ange, I’ve heard lots of people are really liking it. Also Jon was right, I now see everything as “cockable”, which is pretty hysterical.

    Reply

  5. Alex the Tall
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 10:22:59

    That was the most amazing Crayon EVER!! It was red, and yes, things are ‘moving through’ smoothly.

    I anticipate full passage of the crayon tomorrow. Is that too much? I mean, I liked Pretending things are a Cock, maybe poo jokes are funny to some and TMI for others.

    Reply

  6. Shamash
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 21:07:31

    Hey Robyn
    me and dr. Marigold just read your review of dr. Marigold. It was hilarious, especially the quote from Garry! It’s the best show I’ve ever seen in my life, so go check it out. Well, defo in my top 5. Love to all, sham

    ps we love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

