Buzz Me Some Breaky: Tuesday, Detox Baby!

It’s on everyone’s mind in January, and it should be if you are at all like me and for about 1 month before January consume alcohol and bad news foods every other day.  I went to Mexico for Christmas and i swear i could hear my liver weeping on the flight home.  As I sipped 3 Jim Beams and cokes…. Anyway in years past i would have made January, DETOX JANUARY!  But instead i am simply taking it easy, going to the gym more, trying Infared Sauna starting Thursday and drinking…..

Green Smoothie Liver Tonic!!! or Type O-h my Goodness Liver Tonic!!!

….cuz it looks like….the fake blood they drink on True Blood….i know, kind of gross, but REALLY good for you!

This is care of The Green Smoothie Queen, an amazing site dedicated to awesome smoothies!

  • ½ small beet (juiced) – Funny story about beets below.  True story about beets is that they are a powerful antioxidant, they help protect your liver from harmful chemicals….the list goes on.
    *you can blend the beet in your blender, if your blender has a powerful motor <– have i mentioned how much i loves me my Vitamix?!?
  • 3 to 4 beet green leaves <– beet greens contain twice as much potassium as the actual beet and rock for several other reasons
  • 3 to 4 dandelion leaves <– I could not find these fresh anywhere, apparently Kins and IGA usually have them but not yesterday….My health food store (Garden Health on Davie) had dried leaves and informed me that Capers probably carries them.  Annnnnyway, i ended up making really strong dandelion tea and using that as my water.  Goddamn i am smart!  Dandelion is said to enhance the flow of bile in your body, improving the function of your liver, and remedy liver conditions.  Thanks dandelion, i will look upon you with much more respect!
  • ¼ to ½ lemon
  • 2 apples
  • 1 inch fresh ginger
  • 1 cup water <– or dandelion tea!

So, the final verdict on this smoothie?  It was a little strong on the “healthy flavors” and could have used a tad more sweetening.  Perhaps i could have used a sweeter apple?  Anyone have any suggestions?  Or maybe next time i would add a squirt of agave.  It was still really good though and seriously packs a liver boosting punch!  Try it and let me know what you think!  Tomorrow we use some leftover’s and get a little crazy!

 

This was my liver on January 1st....

**Funny beet story!  So apparently when i was 9 i came to my mom and asked “Did we have beets for dinner last night?”  My mom said no and i went away.  A little while later i reappeared and asked “did we have beets for dinner the night before last?”  She said no and so i went away again.  At this point my moms interest was peaked and so she came to find me and asked why i thought we had beets for dinner……turns out i had started my period for the first time and since i was only 9 effing years old i had no idea why i had “red pee”.  Let this be a lesson to any parents out there!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ange
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 23:26:35

    I think dandelion greens are often in those herb mixed salads you can buy and you could easily pick out 3-4 as recommended in your recipe and use the rest for your yummy salads.
    Carrots are awesome sweeteners when juicing – I would assume the same for your super duper Vitamix.
    I’m looking forward to hearding about your infrared treatment, very curious how it makes you feel. I’m assuming similar to how I feel after a hot bath – fabulous!
    Great posts – keep em coming 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

