Quick and Easy….just how i like my…..Soups.

So it seems that every time i make a soup i think it’s the best soup ever.  And that’s ok.

Today’s BEST SOUP EVER (!!) is not only the best soup ever but also the easiest soup ever.  Seriously.  No chopping except if you wanna.  And it’s brought to you buy Vegan Yum Yum (yum!) via Chic Vegan ….otherwise known as “Why doesn’t my blog look as pretty as that?” … perhaps one day…


 

Coconut, Corn and Black Bean Soup

The picture on Vegan Yum Yum is 100X better….but the iPhone does not bad!

Coconut, Corn, and Black Bean Soup
Makes 4 lunch sized portions (or 1 Van Chick sized dinner and 1 Van Chick sized lunch serving**)

**Van Chick’s comments in italics

2 Cans Black Beans
1 Cup Pureed Stewed Tomatoes – Hooray for new Vita-Mix!  Pureed those tomots in .5 seconds!
1/2 Cup Coconut Milk
1 Vegetable Bullion Cube – I use Better Than Bullion..mmmm
1 Cup Frozen Corn
1 tsp Smoked Paprika (please actually use the smoked kind!) – I think mine was smoked…smelled smoky.
1/4 tsp Kosher Salt – or pink Himalayan salt!  Or whatever you have!
1 tsp of your favorite herb(s) – my favorite herb rhymes is FrillantroAnd here’s where the chop if you wanna comes in.

Add both cans of beans with their liquid to a heavy soup pot. Add the tomatoes, coconut milk, bullion cube, and paprika. Simmer for at least 20 minutes, but it can cook on low, covered, for much longer if needed. A few minutes before serving, add the corn. Garnish with some fresh herbs, if available, and/or a splash of coconut milk.

You may consider adding shredded carrot, fresh baby spinach, pasta, rice, lentils, or even a diced potato if you feel like jazzing it up a bit. It’s a very versatile soup, and I find it refreshing change from the vegetable broth and tomato based soups I usually make.

I made some quinoa (keeeeen-waaaaaah) in my rice cooker (miracle!) with “chicken” flavored Better Than Bullion (used the veggie flavor in the soup) and the poured the soup over that.  And, since i like crunch (almost as much as i like sauce) i added a garnish of blue corn tortilla chipsMMMMMMM!  The one and only change i would make is to not add any salt as the bullion is salty enough as is.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 15:46:07

    Sounds great!
    I am so glad to see you still know how to post on yer blog…….lol.
    xo

    Reply

    • Pinchers McRobyn
      Nov 05, 2010 @ 17:57:44

      I can’t wait to try it!

      I only have regular paprika – I’ll let you know if I think it makes a big difference!

      XO – miss your face!

      Y.

      Reply

  2. Mel
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 11:21:13

    Sounds amazing!!! Can’t wait to give this one a try!

    Thanks babe

    Reply

  3. vanchick
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 16:38:30

    Do it! It is AWESOME!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Vegan MoFo Mo Fo’s! « a chick in Van blogs about stuff
  5. Jessica
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 19:45:25

    This sounds so good! I just got some Himalayan pink salt, HimalaSalt, from Sustainable Sourcing https://secure.sustainablesourcing.com and I think I’ll try it out in this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a comment